I’m just going to start this by saying that everyone should go and see this movie if possible. I honestly cannot stress how much  joy I felt when watching such a true adaptation of my favourite hero on the big screen.

I’m sure I’m not the only one who remembers when the deal was struck and made public that Spider-Man would be joining the MCU. How excited were we all?

tumblr_njjs5f0myi1qeqbsjo1_500
Chills down my spine.

Now, before I go on to sing the praises of Homecoming, I actually enjoyed both the Tobey Maguire and Andrew Garfield films (even ASM2 even though I can admit it wasn’t great by any means). However, Spider-Man: Homecoming blows them both out of the water for me.

At first, I must admit, I did feel like I was watching a Nickelodeon show from the mid 2000s when we first saw Peter Parker walking down his school hallway (Ned’s Declassified anyone?). This comparison was promptly forgotten about however as the story wastes little time in getting us into some good old Spider-Man action.

Spoilers ahead:

Peter starts off the film waiting to hear from Tony Stark or Happy to let him know about his next mission. The waiting lasts months and so we get to see what Spider-Man has been doing during this time. Helping old women with directions, recovering stolen bikes (only to not actually know who it belongs to) and stopping car thieves who aren’t actually car thieves. It’s literally the friendly neighbourhood Spider-Man we all know and love.

What I think was a very clever move on Marvel’s part, was to essentially give us an origin story but having it not be an origin story. Confused? Let me explain.

We don’t see the literal origin of Peter becoming Spider-Man but we pick up when he’s still quite inexperienced and young. This film is about the growth of him as a hero, learning some harsh lessons along the way, allowing people who aren’t as familiar to get to grips with the character whilst everyone else isn’t wasting their time watch ANOTHER spider-bite and Uncle Ben dying AGAIN (That character is having a rough time isn’t he?).

The main focus of the film is Peter trying to push himself to take on a bigger threat and prove he’s worthy of being amongst the likes or Iron Man and Captain America but falling short. The dynamic of Tony Stark being a distant father figure for Peter really does add some depth to the story and doesn’t make the film an “Iron Man” film like some people originally thought when Robert Downey Jr was confirmed to be in the film.

All in all, Spider-Man: Homecoming is the fun, friendly neighbourhood film everyone was wanting for years. Welcome home Peter.

 

Leave a Reply

